Published On: Thu, Jul 5th, 2018

Anything Can Happen at Daytona

Anything Can Happen at Daytona

This past weekend at Chicagoland saw the most thrilling last-lap battle for a win of the season. And now we head back to Daytona, where the history of the July Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race is worthy of its own highlight reel (Saturday, July 7 at 7 p.m. ET on NBC, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Don’t blink or you’ll miss an exciting dash to the checkered flag. The last six races overall at Daytona have been determined by a margin of victory of less than a half second:

·         2018 Daytona 500: 0.26 (Austin Dillon over Bubba Wallace)

·         2017 July: 0.213 (Ricky Stenhouse Jr. over Clint Bowyer)

·         2017 Daytona 500: 0.228 (Kurt Busch over Ryan Blaney)

·         2016 July: 0.159 (Brad Keselowski over Kyle Busch)

·         2016 Daytona 500: 0.01 (Denny Hamlin over Martin Truex Jr.)

·         2015 July: 0.122 (Dale Earnhardt Jr. over Jimmie Johnson)

And, in fact, the track holds three of the top 10 closest MOV in the Monster Energy Series since the inception of electronic timing and scoring:

·         Third closest MOV – 2007 Daytona July race: 0.005 (Jamie McMurray over Kyle Busch) 

·         Sixth closest MOV – 1994 Daytona July race: 0.008 (Jimmy Spencer over Ernie Irvan) 

·         Tied for seventh closest MOV (and closest MOV in Daytona 500 history)– 2016 Daytona 500: 0.01 (Denny Hamlin over Martin Truex Jr.) 

Nine Would be Fine

The past eight July races at Daytona International Speedway have seen eight different winners.

2017 – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

2016 – Brad Keselowski

2015 – Dale Earnhardt Jr.

2014 – Aric Almirola

2013 – Jimmie Johnson

2012 – Tony Stewart

2011 – David Ragan

2010 – Kevin Harvick

All but two of those drivers (Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Tony Stewart) are entered in this Saturday’s Coke Zero Sugar 400 (7 p.m. ET on NBC, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

If you toss in Daytona 500 winners, the last eight visitors overall to Victory Lane at Daytona are also unique winners.

2018 Daytona 500 – Austin Dillon

2017 July Race – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

2017 Daytona 500 – Kurt Busch

2016 July Race – Brad Keselowski

2016 Daytona 500 – Denny Hamlin

2015 July Race – Dale Earnhardt Jr.

2015 Daytona 500 – Joey Logano

2014 July Race – Aric Almirola

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series
Next Race: Coke Zero Sugar 400
The Place: Daytona International Speedway
The Date: Saturday, July 7
The Time: 7:30 p.m.
TV: NBC, 7 p.m. ET
Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio
Distance: 400 miles (160 Laps); Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 40),
Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 80), Final Stage (Ends on Lap 160)

Source & Photo Credit: NASCAR

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post comment.